Our blog is a place for CV2 staff to post about upcoming events and news related to CV2.

Young Buck Poetry Prize 2017 Long List

Jan 1, 2018

We are pleased to announce the long list for this year's Young Buck Poetry Prize, as selected by judge Michael Prior! We received many strong submissions this year, and compiling this list was no easy task for our judge. Congratulations to those of you who made the long list, and thank you to everyone who entered!


Without further ado, here is CV2's Young Buck Poetry Prize long list for 2017:


"A Boat Is Not the Whole World" by Sarah Ens

"A Restaurant in California" by Curtis LeBlanc

"Aubade" by Zachary Matteson

"Crystals" by Ellie Sawatzky

"Dog" by Suzannah Showler

"Fermeuse, 2015" by Patrick O'Reilly

"Glassblowing" by Emily Osborne

"India Lima Yankee, India Lima Yankee" by Marika Prokosh

"Lyric Pathography" by Rebecca Salazar

"Naturecultures" by Emily Skov-Nielson

"Reconnaissance" by Andy Verboom

"Theriomorphism" by Jordan Mounteer



Check back soon, we will announce the shortlist on January 5th and the winners on January 10th.

Again, thank you to everyone who entered, and congratulations to the long list!

Iceland launch of “Convergence / Samruni”

Dec 5, 2017

núna (now) Iceland Canada Art Convergence, Contemporary Verse 2: The Canadian Journal of Poetry and Critical Writing (CV2) & Ós Pressan present: IDENTITIES OF ARRIVAL AND SURVIVAL / LJÓÐADÖGURÐUR / POETRY BRUNCH

With readings by Virginia Gillard, Hannah Green, Jónína Lynn Kirton, Gerður Kristný, Anna Valdís Kro, angela rawlings, Magnús Sigurðsson, Randi W. Stebbins, Kristín Svava, and Michael Minor and video installation by Agata Wisniewsk. This launch is in celebration of "Convergence / Samruni," an issue of CV2 created in collaboration with núna (now).

DECEMBER 10, 2017 11.30 – 14.00
Aalto Bistro at the Nordic House, Iceland

Poetry Only: Hair Issue Launch

Jun 13, 2017

Our spring issue launch was so much fun! Thank you to everyone who came out, thank you to our talented readers, Molly Cross Blanchard, Seren Gagne, Erin O'Hara, and MJ Matheson, and a special thanks to Rachel Scramstad, for capturing the evening.