Submission deadline: November 15, 2020
The Young Buck Poetry Prize is an annual contest
with a submission deadline in November.


The Young Buck poetry prize is awarded to the author of the single best submitted poem, along with $1000 and publication in CV2. Four honourable mentions are also awarded, each with a cash prize.

The winner of the 2019 Young Buck Poetry Prize of $1000 is:

Jake Byrne for "Parallel Volumes"

Honourable Mentions and $150 go to:

Alycia Pirmohamed for "Burial Plot"
Harpreet Kang for "Dad Gave Me Poetry"
Allie Duff for "Necessary Sins"
Natasha Ramoutar for "Atlas of a Lost World"

The prize-winning poems will be published in our Summer 2020 Issue. Thank you to our wonderful 2019 judge, Shazia Hafiz Ramji, and to everyone who submitted their work!


See the winners from previous years

Young Buck Poetry Prize winners



2019 contest judge

Shazia Hafiz Ramji is the author of Port of Being (Invisible Publishing), a finalist for the 2019 BC Book Prizes (Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize) and the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award. It was also named by CBC as a best Canadian poetry book of 2018 and received the Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry. Shazia's writing has appeared or is forthcoming in Poetry NorthwestBest Canadian Poetry 2019, and Quill & Quire. She is at work on a novel and a second book of poems.


Full contest rules